Political inequality

Four of nine current Supreme Court justices
— Clarence Thomas, Neil Gorsuch, Brett
Kavanaugh, and Amy Coney Barrett—
were confirmed by a Senate majority that

Kavanaugh, and Amy Coney Barrett — were confirmed by a Senate majority that collectively won a minority of the popular vote in Senate elections and represented less than half of the American population.

And three of them

Gorsuch, Kavanaugh, and Coney Barrett were also nominated by a president who lost the popular vote.

Steven Levitsky and Daniel Ziblatt, Tyranny of the Minority